Helped out by a friend – Goodwood sprint 25-Apr-15

 photo TWMC hyundai_zpsqcqk5wza.jpg

Following the clutch failure at Rockingham, the Mustang wasn’t going to be repaired in time for the first Goodwood sprint of the season. So my friend Colin Spark very kindly allowed me to double drive his Hyundai Coupe Evo F2. It was a very steep learning curve as the car was front wheel drive which I am not used to. Having to jump straight into an unfamiliar car on the fastest circuit in the calendar with a very wet track was unlikely to produce a great result.

Performance

Because of my unfamiliarity with the car I was unable to accuractely feel what it was doing on the race track which made it very difficult for me to push the performance. This wasn’t helped by a very wet and slippery track during practice, where I spun off at Lavant corner as I tried to correct my line and bring the nose of the car tighter into the first apex. The rear of the car slid out and I span backwards over the curb, though thankfully no damage was done. The next few laps were taken very carefully with me braking before the apex of the high speed Fordwater corner, before I finally managed to get it together and push the car for the final lap. I finished 6th out of 10 in class but feel I could have gone faster with more familiarity and confidence in the car.

Results

 photo IMG_7502_zpsdohzoow2.jpg
1st James Silk
Honda Integra type R – 102.69 secs
 photo IMG_7507_zpsmrctg6he.jpg
2nd Hugh Mackey
Renault Clio cup 172 – 106.28 secs
 photo IMG_7508_zpspnsc7p9g.jpg
3rd Paul Mackey
Renault Clio cup 172 – 108.02 secs
4th Iain Reynolds
MGF – 112.64 secs
5th Robin Mulcaire
MGF Trophy – 113.29 secs
 photo TWMC hyundai_zpsqcqk5wza.jpg
6th Alex Peters
Hyundai Coupe Evo F2 – 118.48 secs
 photo IMG_7504_zpswtemltnc.jpg
7th John Bryant
MG TF 118.81 secs
 photo IMG_7506_zpsvpywcfe7.jpg
8th Howard Harman
MG PA – 127.87 secs
 photo IMG_7498_zpsyi6736cb.jpg
9th Colin Spark
Hyundai Coupe Evo F2 – 131.13 secs
 photo IMG_7503_zps91jk4gz6.jpg
10th Kevin Diamond
Volvo Amazon – 136.64 secs

Leave a comment