A great class win over old rivals – Eelmoor sprint 10-Oct-14

The car performed fantastically at the final sprint of the 2014 season – I would say this was my best event of my sprint career to date. I hope this is a sign of better results for 2015 and would like to thank of my sponsors, suppliers and supporters who have enabled so much success this year. In particular I would like to thank  Redline American Muscle,  Steeda UK,  Steeda US,  KW suspension, Recaro, Toyo Tires, Sky Insurance, Eyesite and Personalised Planet for their support.

 photo IMG_8689_zps51d8a12e.jpg The elation of a class win, beating long term rivals !

 photo Mustang_zpsa9ebccfb.jpg Picture courtesy of Charlie Lower

Build

Unchanged from the Curborough sprint.  photo IMG_8676_zpsbef781fd.jpg Picture courtesy of Chris Berrisford  photo IMG_7272_zps2ca39118.jpg

Performance

With the Steeda and Redline American Muscle modifications to the cars chassis made before the Curborough sprint, the Mustang handled amazingly well. I was able to slide it around the tight bends and cones with fantastic precision.

 photo AlexMustang2_zpsa4a367a3.jpg Picture courtesy of Charlie Lower

Results

I won my class with a very conservative run, using the power of the supercharger on the straights and its ability to slide very controllably around the twisty country lanes sections. For the second timed session the car in front of me tipped a load of oil over the track, as I had such a large margin over the next competitor I decided not to take the run and risk wrecking the car. Needless to say, the human crash test dummy, Kevin Lower did go out using laws of physics normally only seen in warner brothers cartoons, but kept it on the track. I feel that if I had pushed the car harder I could easily have been in the top five fastest of the day.

It gave me a particular satisfaction to beat my great rival over the last two seasons, Paul Braddock. Paul knew the track and was in the very capable and lighter supercharged mini, yet I was still able to beat him over a second. I think is a great indication of how the Mustang and myself have improved from when Paul beat me at Debden by a four second margin.

 photo IMG_7282_zps7419c312.jpg Receiving the class winners trophy from the clerk, Steve Castle

 photo IMG_8677_zps38dcedd9.jpg 1st 29 Alex Peters Ford Mustang GT 57.74 secs  photo IMG_7268_zps2fe91832.jpg 2nd 31 Simon Taylor Renault Alpine 58.55 secs
 photo IMG_7267_zpsd461cdb8.jpg 3rd 28 Paul Braddock BMW Mini Cooper S 58.93 secs  photo IMG_7270_zps3a91badf.jpg 4th 27 Marc Hanson MG SV 1:00.67 secs
 photo IMG_7256_zps50048d36.jpg 5th 30 Kevin Lower BMW 328 1:01.14 secs  photo IMG_7264_zps0e6c12c4.jpg 6th 32 Andy Deeley Nissan 200 SX 1:03.09 secs

Leave a comment